Rockland County Executive's Historic Preservation Merit Award Winners

The Historical Society of Rockland County congratulates the winners of the 24th annual Rockland County Executive's Historic Preservation Merit Awards:

  • Herbert H. Dahm: Margaret B. and John R. Zehner Award: for contributions to the county's history and for underscoring the value of historic preservation to the community.

  • Preservation Leadership Award: Kathy and Harold Jones, stewards of the DeWint House, Tappan,for their outstanding leadership and continuing contribution to the preservation of historic resources in Rockland County.

  • Preservation/Restoration Awards: Heritage of West Nyack for their preservation of Pye’s Corners (a.k.a. Richard’s Corners) in West Nyack; Suzanne Barclay and Walter Aurell for their restoration of the Aurell/Barclay House (a.k.a. Mabie House) in Orangeburg.

  • Rescue Award: Walter Cain and Paulo Ribeiro for saving the Heitman House, Piermont, from demolition.

  • Continuing Use Award: Nick Loucas, Lucas Candies, Haverstraw.

    Special Commendations to Joel Epstein, Code Enforcement Officer, Town of Clarkstown, and Sisters of St. Dominic, Sparkill, upon the 100th anniversary of the Sacred Heart Chapel.

    The award recipients will be honored at a special Country Supper on the Jacob Blauvelt House grounds on Sunday, May 18, 2014, 4-7 p.m. Tickets are available at http://www.rocklandhistory.org/event.cfm?page=368. Kindly RSVP by May 5

  • Boards

    More »
    Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
    Note Article
    Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
    Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
    See more »