For 2013 Legislators Grant And Schoenberger Switch Committee Leadership

Rockland Legislative Chair Harriet assigns Michael Grant as chair of Budget & Finance and Ilan Schoenberger as chair of Planning & Public Works

Rockland County Legislature Chairwoman Harriet Cornell announced her appointment of Legislative Committee Chairs for 2013 and tasked them with reviewing county department operations for the possiblity of future consolidation across department lines and/or with other levels of government. Written recommendations are due by early June so they can be considered in conjuntion with the analysis of the county executive’s Financial Improvement Plan required by Rockland County Law.

Legislators Ilan Schoenberger (D-Suffern) and Michael Grant (D-Garnerville) will exchange committee leadership roles.  Schoenberger steps down as as chairman of Budget & Finance, a position he held from 2005 through 2012, as well as from 1998 through 2000. Grant, who takes over as Budget & Finance chair, has been a long-time committee member.  The committee oversees matters relating to all transfers and appropriations of funds, purchasing, taxes, the annual county budget and the funding of Rockland Community College.

Schoenberger will now chair the Planning & Public Works Committee which oversees issues dealing with Rockland's highways, streams and property, acquisitions, maintenance of county facilities and buildings, sewers and solid waste disposal and public transportation.  In 2003 and 2004, he chaired the committee and has been a member for several years.

Cornell thanked Schoenberger and said “the county has benefited from his vast knowledge and in these difficult financial times, we are grateful for his tireless efforts to structure a workable deficit reduction plan. We will pursue and achieve state approval this year.”

Concerning the change in chairmanship roles, Cornell said, “This could not be a better scenario.  Michael’s strong leadership and long familiarity with Budget issues will make for an easy transition.  I appreciate his willingness and cooperation to step into this role.” 

Cornell reappointed the following legislators to chair the same committees as last year:

Legislator Alden H. Wolfe             Environmental Committee
Legislator Nancy Low-Hogan       Government Operations Committee
Legislator Philip Soskin                Multi Services Committee
Legislator Jay Hood, Jr.               Public Safety Committee
Legislator Michael Grant              Economic Development Committee

The legislature meets on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7p.m., with exception for holidays.  The committees meet, as needed, on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month (times vary by committee).  Agendas for meetings of the full Legislature and its committees are posted several days in advance and may be found onlineMeetings of the Legislature and its committees are open to the public.

The legislature held it reorganization meeting last week with members voting on majority and minority party leaders and electing Cornell to her ninth term as chair of the legislature. 

Kevin Roy January 08, 2013 at 06:35 PM
I'm relatively new to Rockland, but did Legislator Cornell really say the County "benefited" from Schoenberger's time as Chairman of the Budget & Finance Committee? Perhaps she didn’t read the RBA white-paper?
Mike Hirsch January 08, 2013 at 07:39 PM
She does look a little dazed and confused.
Jake Rokeach January 18, 2013 at 07:50 PM
Remind me when the RBA became the authority. You want to blame somebody, there's a position called County Executive that has been held by the same guy who has submitted these budgets for years.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »